The Dow/Karabatsos Distinguished Lectureship

The Dow/Karabatsos Lecture Series in the Chemical Sciences has enriched the experience of workers in the chemical sciences at MSU for over two decades. As is evident from the list of distinguished speakers, this lectureship has provided opportunities for students and faculty to interact with outstanding researchers from all areas of chemistry. We are grateful to Dow for their ongoing support that permits us to continue this tradition of extending invitations to outstanding scholars and teachers such as Professor John E Bercaw. The Department has started an endowment for this lecture series in honor of Professor Gerasimos J. Karabatsos.



MSU is an Affirmative Action-Equal Opportunity Institution

Previous Dow/Karabatsos Lecturers

1981	George A. Olah*
1982	Gabor A. Somorjai
1983	Allen J. Bard
1984	John H. Sinfelt
1985	Robert G. Bergman
1986	Paul von R. Schleyer
1987	Robert H. Grubbs*
1988	F. Albert Cotton
1989	Julius Rebek
1990	Tobin J. Marks
1991	Nicholas J. Turro
1992	Marye Anne Fox
1993	Richard H. Holm
1994	John I. Brauman
1995	Josef Michl
1996	JoAnne Stubbe
1997	Dale L. Boger
1998	Fred W. McLafferty
1999	Daniel G. Nocera
2000	K. C. Nicolaou
2001	Richard R. Schrock*
2002	Jean M.J. Fréchet
2003	Robert H. Grubbs*
2004	Galen D. Stucky
2005	Donald A. Tomalia Emmanuel P. Gianneli Andrew Ellington Joseph A. Caruso Larry R. Dalton
2006	Sidney M. Hecht
2007	John E. Bercaw

Chemistry

Dow/Karabatsos Distinguished Lectureship ^{in the} Chemical Sciences

Presents

Professor John E. Bercaw

Centennial Professor of Chemistry, California Institute of Technology

Sponsored by: The Dow Chemical Company and the MSU Department of Chemistry

4:10 pm September 12, 13, and 14, 2007 MSU Chemistry Building

*Nobel Prize Winner

Lecture Topics

Wed. September 12, 2007 Room 138 "Selective Catalytic Oxidations of Methane: Keys to the Effective Use of Natural Gas"

Thurs. September 13, 2007 Room 136 "Ethylene Oligomerization with Organochromium Catalysts"

Fri. September 14, 2007 Room 136 "Olefin Polymerization Catalysis: Kinetics and Kinetic Resolutions"

All lectures at 4:10 pm, Chemistry Building – MSU



John Bercaw was born in Cincinnati, Ohio on December 3, 1944. He received his B. S. degree from North Carolina State University in 1967, his Ph.D. from the University of Michigan in 1971 under the direction of Hans Brintzinger, and undertook postdoctoral research with Jack Halpern at the University of Chicago for one year. He joined the faculty at the California Institute of Technology as an Arthur Amos Noyes Research Fellow in 1972, and in 1974 he joined the professorial ranks, becoming Professor of Chemistry in 1979. From 1985 to 1990 he was the Shell Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, and in 1993 he was named Centennial Professor of Chemistry. Bercaw has been a Seaborg Scholar at Los Alamos National Laboratory (2004), the Robert Burns Woodward Visiting Professor at Harvard University (1999), The George F. Baker Lecturer at Cornell (1993), Visiting Miller Professor at University of California, Berkeley (1990), and in 1989-90 a Royal Society of Chemistry Guest Research Fellow at Oxford University.

Bercaw consulted with Exxon for more than twenty years, and now works with BP and Dow scientists. He has served on numerous panels for the Department of Energy and the National Research Council, and since 1999 has been a member of the University of California, Office of the President's Panel on Science and Technology for Lawrence Livermore, Lawrence Berkeley and Los Alamos National Laboratories.

His research interests are in synthetic, structural and mechanistic organotransition metal chemistry. Recent studies include metallocene catalysts for Ziegler-Natta polymerization of olefins and investigations of hydrocarbon hydroxylation with transition metal complexes.

He has received the American Chemical Society awards in Pure Chemistry (1980), for Organometallic Chemistry (1990), for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Inorganic Chemistry (1997), the George A. Olah Award for Hydrocarbon or Petroleum Chemistry (1999), and an Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award (2000). He held the Sir Edward Frankland Prize Lectureship of the Royal Society of Chemistry in 1992. He has also been selected a Chemical Pioneer by the American Institute of Chemists (1999). He was selected as a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (1986) and was elected a member of the National Academy of Sciences (1990) and a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (1991). He was awarded an Honorary Doctorate of Science from the University of Chicago in 2001.