## The Dow/Karabatsos Distinguished Lectureship

The Dow/Karabatsos Lecture Series in the Chemical Sciences has enriched the experience of workers in the chemical sciences at MSU for over two decades. As is evident from the list of distinguished speakers, this lectureship has provided opportunities for students and faculty to interact with outstanding researchers from all areas of chemistry. We are grateful to Dow for their ongoing support that permits us to continue this tradition of extending invitations to outstanding scholars and teachers such as Professor Peter J. Stang. The Department has started an endowment for this lecture series in honor of Professor Gerasimos J. Karabatsos.



MSU is an Affirmative Action-Equal Opportunity Institution



1981	George A. Olah*
1982	Gabor A. Somorjai
1983	Allen J. Bard
1984	John H. Sinfelt
1985	Robert G. Bergman
1986	Paul von R. Schleyer
1987	Robert H. Grubbs*
1988	F. Albert Cotton
1989	Julius Rebek
1990	Tobin J. Marks
1991	Nicholas J. Turro
1992	Marye Anne Fox
1993	Richard H. Holm
1994	John I. Brauman
1995	Josef Michl
1996	JoAnne Stubbe
1997	Dale L. Boger
1998	Fred W. McLafferty
1999	Daniel G. Nocera
2000	K. C. Nicolaou
2001	Richard R. Schrock*
2002	Jean M.J. Fréchet
2003	Robert H. Grubbs*
2004	Galen D. Stucky
2005	Donald A. Tomalia Emmanuel P. Gianneli Andrew Ellington Joseph A. Caruso Larry R. Dalton
2006	Sidney M. Hecht
2007	John E. Bercaw

\*Nobel Prize Winner



Dow/Karabatsos Distinguished Lectureship in the Chemical Sciences

## Presents **Professor Peter J. Stang** Distinguished Professor of Chemistry

University of Utah

Sponsored by: The Dow Chemical Company and the MSU Department of Chemistry

4:10 pm September 17, 18, and 19, 2008 MSU Chemistry Building

## **Lecture Topics**

Wed. September 17, 2008 Room 138 "Abiological Self-assembly: I. Pre-designed Polygons and Metallacycles via Coordination"

Thurs. September 18, 2008 Room 136 "Abiological Self-assembly: II. Pre-designed Polyhedra and Metallacages via Coordination"

Fri. September 19, 2008 Room 136 "Chemical Publishing in the 21st Century: Perspectives of a JACS Editor"

All lectures at 4:10 pm, Chemistry Building – MSU



eter J. Stang was born in 1941 in Nürnberg, Germany, raised in Hungary until 1956, and educated in the USA. He earned a B.S. in chemistry from DePaul University in Chicago in 1963 and Ph.D. degree from the University of California at Berkeley in 1966. After NIH postdoctoral work at Princeton, he joined the faculty at Utah in 1969 where, since 1992, he holds the rank of Distinguished Professor of Chemistry; he served as Department Chair from 1989-1995 and as Dean of the College of Science at Utah from 1997-2007. His research interests over the years involved reactive intermediates such as vinyl cations and unsaturated carbenes, organometallic chemistry, strained ring systems and, most recently, polyvalent iodine and alkynyl ester chemistry. His current efforts focus on using

coordination and chelation to construct supramolecular species via self-assembly. He is the author or coauthor more than 430 scientific publications, including two dozen reviews and six monographs. He was an Associate Editor of the Journal of the American Chemical Society from 1982 until 1999, Editor in Chief of the Journal of Organic Chemistry from January 1, 2000 to October 2001 and is currently Editor of JACS. Professor Stang has been the recipient of the Linus Pauling Medal, 2006; A. von Humboldt Senior Scientist Award (1977, 1997); JSPS Fellow (1985, 1998); Lady Davis Fellow, Haifa, Israel (1986, 1997); Fulbright Hays Senior Scholar, Zagreb, Croatia (1988). In 1992 he was awarded honorary doctorates from the Russian Academy of Sciences and Lomonosov Moscow State University. He was made Foreign Member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, 2007 and the Chinese Academy of Sciences in 2006. He was the recipient of the ACS James Flack Norris Award in Physical-Organic Chemistry in 1998, the ACS George A. Olah Award in Hydrocarbon or Petroleum Chemistry in 2003 as well as the ACS Award for Creative Research and Applications of lodine Chemistry in 2007. In 2000 he was elected a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences and in 2002 a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Besides chemistry, he enjoys travel, classical music, gourmet food, and wines.