

The Dow/Karabatsos **Distinguished Lectureship**

The Dow/Karabatsos Lecture Series in the Chemical Sciences has enriched the experience of workers in the chemical sciences at MSU for over thirty years. As is evident from the list of distinguished speakers, this lectureship has provided opportunities for students and faculty to interact with outstanding researchers from all areas of chemistry. We are grateful to Dow for their ongoing support that permits us to continue the tradition of extending invitations to outstanding scholars and teachers such as Professor Matviaszewski. The Department has started an endowment for this lecture series in honor of MSU Professor Gerasimos J. Karabatsos.

If you're interested in contributing to the Karabatsos Lecture Fund, please visit: http://www.chemistry.msu.edu/KarabatsosFund

Previous Dow/Karabatsos Lecturers

1981	George A. Olah*
1982	Gabor A. Somorjai
1983	Allen J. Bard
1984	John H. Sinfelt
1985	Robert G. Bergman
1986	Paul von R. Schleyer
1987	Robert H. Grubbs*
1988	F. Albert Cotton
1989	Julius Rebek
1990	Tobin J. Marks
1991	Nicholas J. Turro
1992	Marye Anne Fox
1993	Richard H. Holm
1994	John I. Brauman
1995	Josef Michl
1996	JoAnne Stubbe
1997	Dale L. Boger
1998	Fred W. McLafferty
1999	Daniel G. Nocera
2000	K. C. Nicolaou
2001	Richard R. Schrock*
2002	Jean M.J. Fréchet
2003	Robert H. Grubbs*
2004	Galen D. Stucky
2005	Donald A. Tomalia Emmanuel P. Giannelis Andrew Ellington Joseph A. Caruso Larry R. Dalton
2006	Sidney M. Hecht
2007	John E. Bercaw
2008	Peter J. Stang
2009	David W. C. MacMillan
2010	Daniel A. Singleton
2012	Maurice Brookhart
2013	Gregory C. Fu

*Nobel Prize Winner

MICHIGAN STATE UNIVERSITY



Dow/Karabatsos Distinguished Lectureship in the

Chemical Sciences

Presents

Professor Krzysztof Matyjaszewski

J. C. Warner University Professor of Natural Sciences

Center for Macromolecular Engineering

Carnegie Mellon University

September 11th and 12th, 2014

Sponsored by: The Dow Chemical Company and the MSU Department of Chemistry

Lecture Topics

Thursday, September 11, 2014 4:10 pm, Rm. 138 Chemistry **"Macromolecular Engineering by Taming Free Radicals"**

Friday, September 12, 2014 4:10 pm, Rm. 136 Chemistry **"Nanostructured Functional Hybrid Materials by Atom Transfer Radical Polymerization"**



rzysztof (Kris) Matyjaszewski, Ph.D., is an internationally recognized polymer chemist who is highly regarded for his vision, his leadership in education and his many collaborative research efforts that have yielded significant innovations in polymer chemistry. He is perhaps best known for the discovery of atom radical transfer polymerization (ATRP), a novel method of polymer synthesis that has revolutionized the way macromolecules are made.

Professor Matyjaszewski was born in Konstantynow, Poland in 1950. He received his doctorate from the Polish Academy of Sciences in 1976 and completed a postdoctoral fellowship at the University of Florida in 1977. From 1978 to 1984, he was a research associate of the Polish Academy of Sciences. From 1984 to 1985, Matviaszewski held appointments at the University of Paris, first as a research associate and then as a visiting professor. In 1985, he joined Carnegie Mellon, where he founded and currently directs the Center for Macromolecular Engineering. The Center for Macromolecular Engineering is funded both by an active consortium and government agencies, including the National Science Foundation. In 1998, he was appointed the J.C. Warner Professor of Natural Sciences. In 2004 he was named a University Professor, the highest distinction faculty can achieve at Carnegie Mellon.

From 1994 to 1998, Matyjaszewski served as head of the Department of Chemistry and assisted in recruiting additional faculty with strengths in polymer chemistry. At the same time, he formed a research consortium with various industrial corporations to expand the understanding of controlled radical polymerization, including ATRP, and accelerate the transfer of this technology to different commercial applications. A second consortium, formed under his leadership in 2001, continues and expands these efforts, training university and industrial scientists in procedures for responsive polymeric material development. Over 50 companies from Europe, Asia and North America have been members of these consortia. Matyjaszewski is a co-inventor on 46 issued U.S. patented technologies, holds 132 international patents and has 26 U.S. patent applications pending approval.

One of the leading educators in the field of polymer chemistry, he has 15 current doctoral students and 5 postdoctoral fellows. He has mentored more than 200 undergraduate, graduate and postdoctoral students since joining Carnegie Mellon. He has authored 17 books, 83 book chapters and more than 800 peerreviewed scientific papers. His work has been cited in the scientific literature more than 58,000 times, making him one of the most cited chemists in the world.

Professor Matviaszewski has received numerous awards for his work, including the 2012 Société Chimique de France Prize. 2012 Dannie-Heineman Prize from the Goettingen Academy of Sciences 2011 Wolf Prize in Chemistry, 2011 Japanese Society for Polymer Science Award and 2009 Presidential Green Chemistry Challenge Award. He has been honored by the American Chemical Society with their inaugural 2013 AkzoNobel North America Science Award, 2011 Herman F. Mark Award, 2011 Applied Polymer Science Award, 2007 Herman F. Mark Senior Scholar Award, 2004 Cooperative Research Award in Polymer Science & Engineering, 2002 Polymer Chemistry Award, and the 1995 Carl S. Marvel Creative Polymer Chemistry Award. He also received the 2005 UK Macro Medal for outstanding achievements in polymer science, 1995 Humboldt Award for Senior U.S. Scientists and a 1989 Presidential Young Investigator Award from the National Science Foundation. In 2010, he was elected as Fellow of the American Chemical Society, in 2006, he was elected a member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering. He is also a member of Russian Academy of Sciences and honorary member of Chinese Chemical Society and Israel Chemical Society.

Kris' work has been well recognized in his native country of Poland. In 2012 He received Marie Sklodowska-Curie Medal from the Polish Chemical Society and in 2004, the Annual Prize of the Foundation of Polish Science, referred to as the Polish Nobel Prize. In 2005 he became a foreign member of the Polish Academy of Science, and in 2007, he received an honorary degree from Lodz Polytechnic in Poland. He has also received honorary degrees from the University of Ghent, Belgium, Russian Academy of Sciences, University of Athens, Greece, Polytechnic Institute in Toulouse, France, and Pusan National University, South Korea.