



## The Dow/Karabatsos Distinguished Lectureship

The Dow/Karabatsos Lecture Series in the Chemical Sciences has enriched the experience of workers in the chemical sciences at MSU for over thirty years. As is evident from the list of distinguished speakers, this lectureship has provided opportunities for students and faculty to interact with outstanding researchers from all areas of chemistry. We are grateful to Dow for their ongoing support that permits us to continue the tradition of extending invitations to outstanding scholars and teachers such as Professor Swager. The Department has started an endowment for this lecture series in honor of MSU Professor Gerasimos J. Karabatsos.

If you're interested in contributing to the Karabatsos Lecture Fund, please visit: http://www.chemistry.msu.edu/KarabatsosFund

# Previous Dow/Karabatsos Lecturers

1981	George A. Olah*
1982	Gabor A. Somorjai
1983	Allen J. Bard
1984	John H. Sinfelt
1985	Robert G. Bergman
1986	Paul von R. Schleyer
1987	Robert H. Grubbs*
1988	F. Albert Cotton
1989	Julius Rebek
1990	Tobin J. Marks
1991	Nicholas J. Turro
1992	Marye Anne Fox
1993	Richard H. Holm
1994	John I. Brauman
1995	Josef Michl
1996	JoAnne Stubbe
1997	Dale L. Boger
1998	Fred W. McLafferty
1999	Daniel G. Nocera
2000	K. C. Nicolaou
2001	Richard R. Schrock*
2002	Jean M.J. Fréchet
2003	Robert H. Grubbs*
2004	Galen D. Stucky
2005	Donald A. Tomalia Emmanuel P. Giannelis Andrew Ellington Joseph A. Caruso Larry R. Dalton
2006	Sidney M. Hecht
2007	John E. Bercaw
2008	Peter J. Stang
2009	David W. C. MacMillan
2010	Daniel A. Singleton
2012	Maurice Brookhart
2013	Gregory C. Fu
2014	Krzysztof Matyjaszewski

\*Nobel Prize Winner





# Dow/Karabatsos Distinguished Lectureship

in the

#### **Chemical Sciences**

Presents

### Professor Timothy M. Swager

John D. MacArthur Professor of Chemistry Massachusetts Institute of Technology

**January 19 and 20, 2016** 

Sponsored by:
The Dow Chemical Company
and the
MSU Department of Chemistry

## **Lecture Topics**

Tuesday, January 19, 2016 4:10 pm, Rm. 136 Chemistry "Dynamic Particles for Biological and Chemical Sensing"

Wednesday, January 20, 2016 3:00 pm, Rm. 136 Chemistry "Molecular Electronics for Chemical Sensors"



**!**imothy M. Swager is the John D. MacArthur Professor of Chemistry and the Director, Deshpande Center for Technological Innovation at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. A native of Montana, he received a BS from Montana State University in 1983 and a Ph.D. from the California Institute of Technology in 1988. After a postdoctoral appointment at MIT he was on the chemistry faculty at the University of Pennsylvania and returned to MIT in of 1996 as a Professor of Chemistry and served as the Head of Chemistry from 2005-2010. He has published more than 375 peer-reviewed papers and more than 70 issued or pending patents. Swager's honors include: Election to the National Academy of

Sciences, an Honorary Doctorate from Montana State University, the Lemelson-MIT Award for Invention and Innovation, Election to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, The American Chemical Society Award for Creative Invention, The Christopher Columbus Foundation Homeland Security Award, and The Carl S. Marvel Creative Polymer Chemistry Award (ACS). Swager's research interests are in design, synthesis, and study of organic-based electronic, sensory, high-strength, liquid crystalline, and colloid materials. He is the founder of 4 companies (DyNuPol, Iptyx, PolyJoule, and C2 Sense) and has served on a number of corporate and government boards.