

The Dow/Karabatsos Distinguished Lectureship

The Dow/Karabatsos Lecture Series in the Chemical Sciences has enriched the experience of workers in the chemical sciences at MSU for over thirty years. As is evident from the list of distinguished speakers, this lectureship has provided opportunities for students and faculty to interact with outstanding researchers from all areas of chemistry. We are grateful to Dow for their ongoing support that permits us to continue the tradition of extending invitations to outstanding scholars and teachers such as Professor Grubbs. The Department has started an endowment for this lecture series in honor of MSU Professor Gerasimos J. Karabatsos.

If you're interested in contributing to the Karabatsos Lecture Fund, please visit: http://www.chemistry.msu.edu/KarabatsosFund



Previous Dow/Karabatsos Lecturers

1981	George A. Olah*
1982	Gabor A. Somorjai
1983	Allen J. Bard
1984	John H. Sinfelt
1985	Robert G. Bergman
1986	Paul von R. Schleyer
1987	Robert H. Grubbs*
1988	F. Albert Cotton
1989	Julius Rebek
1990	Tobin J. Marks
1991	Nicholas J. Turro
1992	Marye Anne Fox
1993	Richard H. Holm
1994	John I. Brauman
1995	Josef Michl
1996	JoAnne Stubbe
1997	Dale L. Boger
1998	Fred W. McLafferty
1999	Daniel G. Nocera
2000	K. C. Nicolaou
2001	Richard R. Schrock*
2002	Jean M.J. Fréchet
2003	Robert H. Grubbs*
2004	Galen D. Stucky
2005	Donald A. Tomalia Emmanuel P. Giannelis Andrew Ellington Joseph A. Caruso Larry R. Dalton
2006	Sidney M. Hecht
2007	John E. Bercaw
2008	Peter J. Stang
2009	David W. C. MacMillan
2010	Daniel A. Singleton
2012	Maurice Brookhart
2013	Gregory C. Fu
2014	Krzysztof Matyjaszewski
2016	Timothy M. Swager
2017	Harry B. Gray

*Nobel Prize Winner



Dow/Karabatsos Distinguished Lectureship

in the

Chemical Sciences

Presents

Professor Robert H. Grubbs

Victor and Elizabeth Atkins Professor of Chemistry California Institute of Technology

April 4 and 6, 2018

Sponsored by:
The Dow Chemical Company
and the
MSU Department of Chemistry



Lecture Topics

Wednesday, April 4, 2018 5:00 pm, Room 138 Chemistry "Materials for Clinical Applications"

Friday, April 6, 2018
12:40 pm, Room 136 Chemistry
"Design and Applications of
Selective Olefin
Metathesis Catalysts"



Report H. Grubbs is the Victor and Elizabeth Atkins Professor of Chemistry at the California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, California, where he has been a faculty member since 1978. Before moving to Caltech, he was here at the Michigan State University Chemistry Department from 1969 to 1978 achieving the rank of Associate Professor.

Born February 27, 1942, near Possum Trot, Kentucky. B.S., Chemistry, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida, 1963; M.S., M. Battiste, 1965. Ph.D., R. Breslow, Chemistry, Columbia University, New York, New York, 1968. NIH Post-doctoral Fellow, J. P. Collman, Chemistry, Stanford University, 1968-69.

The Grubbs group discovers new catalysts and studies their fundamental chemistry and applications. Catalysts facilitate the transformation of organic molecules and are used widely in industry and academia for the preparation of important organic compounds and polymers. A family of catalysts for the interconversion of olefins, the olefin metathesis reaction has been discovered in the Grubbs laboratory. In addition to their broad usage in academic research, these catalysts are now used

commercially to prepare new pharmaceuticals, composites for structural applications and for the conversion of biorenewable carbon sources into fuels and commodity chemicals. Catalysts for other useful transformations are also being developed and studied in detail.

His more recent awards have included the Nobel Prize in Chemistry (2005), Benjamin Franklin Medal in Chemistry (2000), Pauling Award Medal 2003), Havinga Medal (2006) (Leiden University), Golden Plate Award (2006) (Academy of Achievement), eight ACS Awards including: Polymer Chemistry (1995), Arthur C. Cope Award (2002), Award for Creative Invention (2009), ACS Roger Adams Award in Organic Chemistry (2011), Giulio Natta Award for Chemistry (2014). He was elected to the National Academy of Sciences (1989), Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (1994), the Honorary Fellowship of the Royal Society of Chemistry (2006), Fellows of the American Chemical Society (2009), ACS Polymer Division Fellow (2010), Gold Medal of the American Institute of Chemists, Chemical Heritage Foundation (2010), National Academy of Inventors Fellows Medallion (2014), National Academy of Engineering (2015), George A. Olah Award in Hydrocarbon or Petroleum Chemistry (2017). He has been awarded many honorary degrees, the most recent being an Honorary Degree of DSc from University of Warwick, Coventry (2010), Honors Causa Doctrorate, Univerdidad de Huelva, Spain (2012), Commencement Speaker at KAUST, Jeddah, SA (2012), RWTH Aachen University Honorary Doctorate (Dr.rer.nat.h.c.) (2013), and Doctor of Science, honoris causa, The Hong Kong Baptist University (2015), George A. Olah ACS Award in Hydrocarbon or Petroleum Chemistry (2017). He has 620+ publications and 150+ patents based on his research.