



## The Dow/Karabatsos Distinguished Lectureship

The Dow/Karabatsos Lecture Series in the Chemical Sciences has enriched the experience of workers in the chemical sciences at MSU for over thirty years. As is evident from the list of distinguished speakers, this lectureship has provided opportunities for students and faculty to interact with outstanding researchers from all areas of chemistry. We are grateful to Dow for their ongoing support that permits us to continue the tradition of extending invitations to outstanding scholars and teachers such as Prof. Kiessling. The Department has started an endowment for this lecture series in honor of MSU Professor Gerasimos J. Karabatsos.

If you're interested in contributing to the Karabatsos Lecture Fund, please visit: http://www.chemistry.msu.edu/KarabatsosFund



# Previous Dow/Karabatsos Lecturers

2002

2003

2004

2005

2006

2007

2008

2012

2016

2017

Richard R. Schrock

Jean M.J. Fréchet

Robert H. Grubbs\*

Galen D. Stucky

Donald A. Tomalia

Emmanuel P. Giannelis

Andrew Ellington

Joseph A. Caruso Larry R. Dalton

Sidney M. Hecht

John E. Bercaw

Peter J. Stang

David W. C. MacMillar

Daniel A. Singleton

Maurice Brookhart

Gregory C. Fu

Krzysztof Matyjaszewsk

Timothy M. Swager

Daniel G. Nocera

Robert H. Grubbs\*

Melanie S. Sanford

| 1981 | George A. Olah*      |
|------|----------------------|
| 1982 | Gabor A. Somorjai    |
| 1983 | Allen J. Bard        |
| 1984 | John H. Sinfelt      |
| 1985 | Robert G. Bergman    |
| 1986 | Paul von R. Schleyer |
| 1987 | Robert H. Grubbs*    |
| 1988 | F. Albert Cotton     |
| 1989 | Julius Rebek         |
| 1990 | Tobin J. Marks       |
| 1991 | Nicholas J. Turro    |
| 1992 | Marye Anne Fox       |
| 1993 | Richard H. Holm      |
| 1994 | John I. Brauman      |
| 1995 | Josef Michl          |
| 1996 | JoAnne Stubbe        |
| 1997 | Dale L. Boger        |
| 1998 | Fred W. McLafferty   |
| 1999 | Daniel G. Nocera     |
| 2000 | K. C. Nicolaou       |

\*Nobel Prize Winners

# Dow/Karabatsos Distinguished Lectureship

in the

#### **Chemical Sciences**

Presents

### Professor Laura L. Kiessling

Novartis Professor of Chemistry Massachusetts Institute of Technology

April 6 & 7, 2022

Sponsored by:
The Dow Chemical Company
and the
MSU Department of Chemistry



## **Lecture Topics**

Wednesday, April 6, 2022 3:00 pm, Rm. 136 Chemistry "Carbohydrates in health and disease"

Thursday, April 7, 2022 4:10 pm, Rm. 136 Chemistry "Chemical probes of mycobacteria"



aura Kiessling is an institute member of the Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard, a member of Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research at MIT, and the Novartis Professor of Chemistry at MIT. Prior to MIT. she was the Laurens Anderson Professor of Biochemistry and the Hilldale Professor of Chemistry at the University of Wisconsin, where she also directed the Keck Center for Chemical Genomics. She has received a MacArthur Foundation Fellowship (1998) and a Guggenheim Foundation Fellowship (2008). In 2018, she was the first woman to receive the Tetrahedron Award. Professor Kiessling is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2003), a Member of the American Academy of Microbiology (2007), the American Philosophical Society (2017), and the National

Academy of Sciences (2007). In 2005, Kiessling was recruited by the American Chemical Society (ACS) to serve as the founding Editor-In-Chief of ACS Chemical Biology. In that role, she pioneered a new type of journal for ACS, one that now serves as the model for all ACS journals. Her efforts resulted in ACS Chemical Biology receiving the 2007 Award for Innovation in Journal Publishing from the American Publishing Association — the first time in more than 20 years that an ACS journal was honored for its innovation.

In brief, Professor Kiessling's interdisciplinary research has elucidated and exploited the mechanisms of cell surface recognition processes. She has pioneered the synthesis of multiple types of molecular arrays and used them to elucidate the principles underlying multivalent interactions. She leveraged these findings to achieve cell specific recognition, elicit and illuminate mechanisms underlying signal transduction, and direct cell fate.